Homemade BBQ sauce

It’s as easy to make as it is delicious. Increase or decrease any of the ingredients to make a BBQ sauce that fits your own taste. This is the way I like to make mine.

IMG_0903Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups ketchup (use homemade ketchup…or this will not be nearly as good)
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1/2 cup date paste
  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon Worcestershire sauce (learn how to make your own in minutes here)
  • 1/4 cup mustard
  • 1 red bell pepper, stem removed
  • 1 large white onion
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper (freshly ground is best)
  • 1/2 chili pepper (optional)

Directions: Place all of the ingredients in the blender and blend until liquified. You can use this sauce immediately, but it tastes better to let it sit overnight in the refrigerator to allow the flavors to mix.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade BBQ sauce

  1. I can’t wait to try these recipes for worcestershire, barbeque and ketchup. I don’t know where I first saw you, but I really like your blog. I think it was a kefir yahoo group. I still love my kefir but no longer belong to the group.

    • Yes, I belonged to that group, too. These recipes taste awesome. I cooked a whole, skinned chicken in the crockpot covered with the BBQ sauce today. Then, I shredded it and ate it in a wrap with tomatoes and more BBQ sauce on top. It was so yummy!

Leave a comment